Permanent Disabled Placard

A Permanent Disabled Placard (placard) is a removable windshield placard that is to be hung from the rearview mirror of a PARKED vehicle in order to park in disabled parking spaces. The placard must be used ONLY when a physically disabled person is the occupant of the motor vehicle at the time of parking or when the physically disabled person is being dropped off or picked up. The placard MUST NOT be hung from the rearview mirror when driving the vehicle. The validated receipt of the Application for Disabled Person Placard (Form 2769) must be in the vehicle when the placard is in use.


Who qualifies for a Permanent Disabled Placard?

Any physically disabled person, parent or guardian of a physically disabled person, a not-for-profit group or organization that transports more than one physically disabled person.


What is the definition of "physically disabled?"

Missouri law (301.142.1 RSMo) defines “physical disability” as listed below:


Who determines physical disability?

A licensed physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, physician's assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or optometrist must certify the person is permanently "physically disabled" by completing a Physician's Statement for Disabled Person’s Plates/Placard (Form 1776).


How do I apply for a Permanent Disabled Placard?

In order to apply for a Permanent Disabled Placard, you must submit the following items:

The application may be submitted at any Missouri license office, or by mail to the MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU, PO BOX 100, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105-0100.


What are the fees and expiration cycle for a Permanent Disabled Placard?

There is no fee required to obtain a Permanent Disabled Placard, and the placard expires on September 30th of the fourth year from which the placard was issued.


What are the penalties for misuse, fraudulent application, renewal, procurement, or use of a Permanent Disabled Placard?

Displaying a Permanent Disabled Placard and parking in a disabled parking space by a person not transporting the individual to whom the placard was issued is an infraction punishable by a fine of not less than $50 or more than $300.

Fraudulent application, renewal, procurement, or use of a Permanent Disabled Placard is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000 and/or imprisonment for a period not to exceed one year.


How do I apply for a replacement Permanent Disabled Placard?

If your Permanent Disabled Placard has been lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed, or was never received, you may apply for a replacement Permanent Disabled Placard. Submit a notarized Application for Disabled Person Placard (Form 2769) and a copy of your latest validated receipt for the original placard either by mail to the MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU, PO BOX 100, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105-0100, or in person at any Missouri license office.

Note: If you are unable to locate your latest validated receipt for the original placard, you may be required to have your physician complete a new Physician's Statement for Disabled Person's Plates/Placard (Form 1776) and submit it with your application.

There is no fee for a replacement Permanent Disabled Placard.


I am over 75 years old. Do I need a Physician's Statement?

For an initial application for a Permanent Disabled Placard, all applicants (regardless of age) are required to submit a Physician's Statement for Disabled Person's Plates/Placard (Form 1776). However, persons 75 years of age and over are not required to submit a physician's statement for renewal of a Permanent Disabled Placard.


I am a disabled veteran. Do I need a Physician's Statement?

For an initial application for a Permanent Disabled Placard, all applicants are required to submit a Physician's Statement for Disabled Person's Plates/Placard (Form 1776). However, disabled veterans are not required to submit a physician's statement for renewal of a Permanent Disabled Placard.


How do I renew my Permanent Disabled Placard?

A renewal notice will be mailed every four years to your most current address on record for the Disabled Placard.


Still need help? You can also submit your motor vehicle title and licensing questions to our staff by e-mail. Your e-mail will be forwarded to the appropriate area for reply. Some inquiries can be responded to more quickly than others depending on the issue and amount of time needed for research. Please make sure your computer will accept our e-mail response.