

# **Abandoned Motor Vehicle, Trailer, or All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV)**

The Motor Vehicle Bureau is pleased to provide you with the instructions, forms and requirements necessary to comply with Missouri law when applying for a Certificate of Title on a motor vehicle, trailer, or all-terrain vehicle (ATV) that was abandoned on your property. Submit all completed forms, documents and applicable fees to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau PO Box 2076 Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076

#### **REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:**

- General Affidavit (Form 768) must be completed prior to obtaining the required vehicle inspection. The affidavit MUST contain the following information:
  - The real estate owner's name;
  - The real estate owner's property address where the abandoned unit is located, including street, city, state, and zip code;
  - A description of the abandoned property including the year, make, model, vehicle identification number (VIN), and any decal or license plate which may be affixed to the vehicle, trailer or ATV;
  - A statement explaining the circumstances as to how the real estate owner came into possession of the abandoned property; and
  - The retail or fair market value of the abandoned property assigned by real estate owner. Retail or fair market value may be obtained using the following sources:
    - > A statement from a licensed dealer; or
    - ➤ The NADA Price Guide using the price range listed.

| Application for Missouri Title and I | License (Form 108 |
|--------------------------------------|-------------------|
|--------------------------------------|-------------------|

• The appropriate title application must be completed and signed by the landowner showing the abandoned property location.

 The title must be checked as "Original" "Salvage" or "Junking". A law enforcement inspection will determine the proper type of title to apply for (see title definitions)

### Applicable vehicle inspection:

- If applying for an **original title**, a *Vehicle Examination Certificate* (Form 551) must be completed and signed by an authorized officer of the Missouri State Highway Patrol (or Auto Theft Bureau in the city or county of St. Louis). For trailers, an *Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification* (Form 5062), may be completed by a law enforcement officer in lieu of Form 551.
- If applying for a salvage title, a Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) must be completed by any law enforcement officer. For trailers, an Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification (Form 5062) may be completed by a law enforcement officer in lieu of Form 551.
- If applying for a **junking certificate**, an *Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification* (Form 5062), must be completed by a law enforcement officer in lieu of Form 551. The \$25 inspection fee does not apply in this case.

**Note:** You may obtain a *Vehicle Examination Certificate* (Form 551) by visiting your local License Office or at the Central Office located in the Harry S Truman Building, Room 370; 301 West High Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. A \$25 inspection fee is required. The *Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification* (Form 5062) may be obtained at your local License Office at no fee.

- Each inspection will indicate if the abandoned property was reported stolen.
- The law enforcement agency will give the name and address of the last registered owner(s) or lienholder(s) of record in the State of Missouri to the real estate owner.



# **Abandoned Motor Vehicle, Trailer, or All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV)**

- The inspecting officer must indicate the condition of the motor vehicle, trailer, or ATV on the inspection form.
- A copy of the notification letter (<u>Form 5227</u>) and signed certified mail receipt(s) to the last registered owner(s) and/or lienholder(s).
  - The owner of the real estate property <u>must</u> send a notice by certified mail to the last registered owner(s) and lienholder(s), if applicable, to provide an opportunity for them to protect their interest in the abandoned property.
  - A copy of the signed certified mail receipt <u>at least</u> 30 days old indicating the owner(s) and lienholder(s) of record have been sent and <u>received</u> the notice as required by law. If the certified mail notice is returned, submit a copy of the return stamped "No Forwarding Address" or "Addressee Unknown" with the application for title.
- Title and processing fees. **Do not send cash**. Make checks payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue. The Department may electronically resubmit check returned for insufficient or uncollected funds.
  - Motor vehicle, trailer and ATV \$8.50 title fee, plus \$6 processing fee;
  - Junking Certificate Applications are exempt from title fees and taxes and require only a \$6 processing fee.
- State and local sales tax, if applicable.
  - State sales tax is calculated at 4.225 percent, based on the assigned retail/fair market value of the abandoned property, as determined by the real estate owner on the General Affidavit (<u>Form-768</u>) or real estate owner's statement.
  - Local tax is based on the address of the real estate owner's real estate
    property location. Local tax rates vary from city to city or county to
    county. Local tax is calculated on the assigned retail price of the
    abandoned property shown on the real estate owner's statement.

To calculate your state and local taxes use our <u>Motor Vehicle/Boat/Vessel Sales Tax Calculator</u> located on our website: <u>www.dor.mo.gov</u> or call (573) 526-3669 for assistance.

Upon receipt of the application and supporting documents, the Department will search their records or initiate an inquiry with another state agency, if the evidence presented indicates the abandoned property was registered or titled in another state. If the documentation or our search indicates the latest owner/lienholder was not properly notified, the Department will inform the real estate owner so he or she may send the proper notice(s) as required by law.

Any owner or lienholder receiving notification may protest the issuance of title in the name of the real estate owner, by petition in the associate division of the circuit court or small claims court in the county where the abandoned property is located.

An attorney **MUST** file the petition to recover the abandoned property **within the 30-day notice period**. The petition must name the owner of the real estate, and a copy of the petition must be served on the Director of Revenue. The Director may not be a party to such petition; however, upon receipt of the petition, the issuance of any further titles on the abandoned property will be stopped until the court determines the rights of all parties.

Once all requirements are satisfied, the Department will issue one of the following documents as determined by the completed *Vehicle Examination Certificate* (Form 551):

- An original certificate of title if the Vehicle Examination Certificate indicates that the unit was not previously in a salvaged condition or rebuilt;
- An original certificate of title designated with the words "Prior Salvage" if the Vehicle Examination Certificate indicates the vehicle was previously in a salvaged condition or rebuilt.



### **Abandoned Motor Vehicle, Trailer, or All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV)**

 A salvage certificate of title designated with the words "Salvage/Abandoned Property" if the applicant applies for a Salvage title or the Vehicle Examination Certificate indicates the unit is in a salvaged condition; or

Note: Missouri statutes **define a salvage vehicle** as a motor vehicle, semitrailer or house trailer which, by reason of condition or circumstance has been declared salvage, either by its owner or by an insurance company as a result of settlement of an entity exercising the right of security interest in it, or by an insurance company as a result of settlement of a claim for loss due to damage or theft; or a vehicle ownership of which is evidenced by a salvage title.

 A junking certificate if the applicant applies for a junking certificate or if the Vehicle Examination Certificate is submitted and indicates that the unit is junk.

Note: A **junk vehicle is defined** as a vehicle incapable of operation or use upon the roadways and has no resale value except as a source of parts or scrap, and will not be titled or registered.

Please submit written inquiries, completed forms/documents and applicable fees to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau PO Box 2076 Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-2076

Direct questions regarding the inspection of abandoned property of real estate to the nearest Missouri State Highway Patrol Office.

For additional information, contact the Department by telephone at (573) 526-3669 between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.