
 

6-1 

Section 6 

Creation and 
Release of 
Liens 

Creation of a Lien 

 

 

Below is a summary of documents and fees required based on the type of 
transaction: 

To add a second lien, the first lienholder’s authorized agent must sign the 
lienholder authorization box on the notice of lien form. The owner may submit 
the above listed items to his or her local license office or mail them to the 
Motor Vehicle Bureau, Post Office Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100. 

The information below is an excerpt from Section 6 of the Missouri Titling 
Manual, available at:  http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/titleman/.   
 

TRANSACTION   
TYPE TYPE OF UNIT  REQUIRED     

DOCUMENTS FEES 

Motor vehicle, 
Trailer, all-Terrain 
Vehicle, and 
Manufactured Home 

 
Fourth and Fifth    
copies of form DOR - 
108; or Form DOR -
4809 

$6.00 
processing/ 
agent fee 

Filing 
First/Second 
Lien, 
Chang of 
Ownership Vessel, Outboard 

Motor 
 
Form DOR -4809 

$6.00 
processing/ 
agent fee 

Motor Vehicle, 
Trailer, All Terrain 
Vehicle, 
Manufactured Home 

D O R -108 w / “Title 
and Notice of Lien” 
checked; or 
D O R -108 (all 5 
parts); or 
D O R -108A and 
D O R -4809; and 
Certificate of title 
 

$8.50 title fee 

$12.00 
processing/ 
agent fee 

Filing 
First/Second 
Lien, No 
Change of 
Ownership 

Vessel, Outboard Motor 
Completed form DOR -
93; 
Form DOR -4809; and 

Certificate of Title 

$7.50 title fee 
for vessels or 
$12.00   
outboard motor  
title fee 

$12.00 
processing/ 
agent fee 

Creation and Release of Liens 

• All certificates of title will be mailed to the owner named on the certificate 
of title unless the owner designates a “Mail-to” on the application for title 
or provides written authorization for other handling. 

• To perfect a lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured 
home, boat, or outboard motor, see the chart below. 

o If there is a complete change of ownership, 
file your lien online at:  
https://dors.mo.gov/dmv/nol/loginLink.do 

 

• A lien is a claim on the property of another, i.e., vehicle, vessel, 
etc., as security for payment of a debt. 

Perfecting a Lien 

Missouri law states that for a lien to be perfected the date it is created, and to protect 
the creditor from the buyer's/debtor's possible bankruptcy, the notice of lien should 
be perfected (received by the department) within 30 days from the date of the loan. 

http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/titleman/
https://dors.mo.gov/dmv/nol/loginLink.do
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Releasing a Lien 
On a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or outboard motor, 
Sections 301.640, 306.420, and 700.370, RSMo require the lienholder to 
release the lien on a separate document within 5 business days after the lien is 
satisfied. The release document shall be notarized.  Each perfected second 
lienholder, if any, shall release such lien in the same manner. 

 

• Lien releases made on or after July 1, 2003, may no longer be 
released on the face of a Missouri title, but must be released as 
follows: 

o If the lienholder is an individual, a notice of release (lien release 
section of DOR-4809) must be completed, signed, and notarized.    
An estate executor may release the lien by submitting the above 
with an original or certified copy of the probate court order. 

 

o If the lienholder is a business entity, a completed, signed, 
and notarized notice of release (lien release section of DOR-
4809) or a notarized lien release on the lienholder’s 
letterhead listing the year, make, vehicle identification 
number, lien release date, lienholder name and signature, and 
vehicle owner’s information must be submitted; or 

  A faxed copy may be accepted as long as the notary 
information is legible. 

 

 

o If the above cannot be obtained, the original security agreement 
stamped “paid” with the official seal of the lienholder will be 
accepted. The seal must contain the lienholder’s business name (a 
stamp that only shows “paid” is not acceptable). 

• Liens released prior to July 1, 2003, may be released on the face of the title or 
as listed above and do not have to be notarized. 

 
 

 

• If the owner is unable to obtain a lien release, a court order instructing 
the director of revenue to release the lien must be submitted. 

 

• Some states still require the lien to be released on the face of the title. For 
these states, Missouri will accept this method of lien release. The out-of-state 
title must be notarized only if that state currently requires the release to be 
notarized. 

 
• To release a lien recorded on a certificate of title when the accounts/assets of 

the lienholder have been taken over by the FDIC due to insolvency and/or 
liquidation, a document from the FDIC must be submitted. 

 
oo  The document from the FDIC must grant power of attorney to the 

receiver of the account and list the names of the insolvent lienholder 
and the lienholder that took over the account. If the power of attorney 
references an “asset pool” only, rather than the name of the insolvent 
lienholder, a separate document listing the insolvent lienholder is 
required. 

 

http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3010000640.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3060000420.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c700-799/7000000370.htm

