Minor In Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses
- How can I get my driver license back when it is suspended/revoked under the Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses Law?
- When will I get my driver license back?
- Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am suspended/revoked under the Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses Law?
- What is an SR-22 insurance filing?
- How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?
- Will I have to retake my test?
- Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)?
- Where do I get information about SATOP classes?
- When will the Minor in Possession action come off my driver record?
Information 24/7 – If you have questions about a ticket, suspension, or revocation on your Missouri driver record, you may now call our new interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407 - available 24 hours a day, 7days a week.
How can I get my driver license back when it is suspended/revoked under the Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses Law?
Send the following items to the Driver License Bureau, PO Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200 before your suspension/revocation period ends.
- Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) completion form or a comparable program completion form. The Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse will send this form directly to us after you complete the program. Any questions regarding SATOP comparable programs should be directed to a certified SATOP Offender Management Unit or the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse at (573) 522-4020.
- $45 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.
If you have met your reinstatement requirements and are otherwise eligible, you can get your driver license back after your suspension or revocation period has been served. We will send the driver license back to you with your reinstatement notice.
Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am suspended/revoked under the Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses Law?
You may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). The LDP can be used for work, your alcohol program, medical treatment, school, etc. Click on one of the following for more information.
- How do I file the necessary forms in order to get my license back?
- What is Missouri's LDP?
- How do I apply for an LDP?
NOTE: Only one LDP can be given to you in a five-year period. A person cannot obtain a hardship license to drive a commercial motor vehicle.
Download and complete an Application for Limited Driving Privilege (Form 4595). If you are eligible, an LDP may be issued to you after you file an SR-22 with our office.
It is a form from your insurance company that shows your motor vehicle has liability insurance. (Click here to see an example of the SR-22 form)
The SR-22 is not required for reinstatement for a Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses action; however, the SR-22 is required if you file for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). The SR-22 must be kept in effect until the LDP expires.
You are not required to retest upon reinstatement unless your driver license expired during the suspension or revocation period and has been expired for more than six months.
The law requires you to complete a SATOP for reinstatement if your driving privilege was taken away for:
- Any alcohol- or drug-related traffic offense.
- Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol or drugs.
- Any offense involving the alteration, modification, or misrepresentation of a driver license.
The Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses action can only be removed if the person is at least 21 years of age and it is after five years from the reinstatement date. You must submit a written request to our office requesting the Minor in Possession/Other Alcohol Offenses action be removed.