General Questions about Driver Licensing


I’m moving to Missouri and I have a valid driver license from another state. How can I get a Missouri driver license?

As soon as you establish residency in Missouri, you must apply and pay for a Missouri driver license at a Missouri license office. You may surrender a valid current driver license (or one that is expired 184 days or less) from another U.S. state to the state of Missouri to waive your Missouri skills and written tests. All applicants are required to pass the Missouri road sign recognition and vision tests.

Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders must transfer their CDL within 30 days of transfer of residency.

Please click here for a complete list of documents required to obtain a Missouri driver or nondriver license or instruction permit.

If you are between the ages of 21 and 69, you may apply for a 6-year Missouri driver license. If you are between the ages of 18 and 20, or you are 70 or over, you may apply for a 3-year Missouri driver license. A fee chart is included in Chapter 1 of the Missouri Driver Guide.

Please click here if you want more information about getting a HazMat endorsement on a Missouri CDL.

back to top


How can I update the address on my Missouri driver license?

If you want to update the actual driver license card that you carry in your wallet, you must apply and pay for an updated license at a Missouri license office. If you are within six months of the expiration date on your driver license, you may apply for an early renewal. If not, the transaction would be processed as a duplicate with the same expiration date as your current driver license.

Regardless of whether or not you choose to update your actual driver license, You may click here for the information you will need to update your address in our files.

back to top


I just got married/divorced. How do I change the name on my Missouri driver license?

To change your name, you must take acceptable documentation of your legal name change to a Missouri license office. You may then apply and pay for a duplicate driver license with your new name. Since a new signature must be "captured", a new photo will be necessary as well. If your Missouri driver license is within 6 months (184 days) of expiring, you are eligible to renew your driver license early, saving you another trip to the license office when the contract was due to expire.

Acceptable documents to verify a name change include:

back to top


What documents are required to prove who I am?

Please click here for a complete list of documents required to verify name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and Missouri residential address.

back to top


What is the minimum age to apply for an instruction permit?

15 years of age.

back to top


Where do I go to get my instruction permit?

You must first go to a Missouri State Highway Patrol examination station to take the written, vision and road sign recognition tests. You must then take your Driver Examination Record to a Missouri license office to apply and pay for your instruction permit. Your parent or legal guardian* must come with you to the license office.

* If the applicant is enrolled in a federal residential job training program, then a certified driver training instructor employed by that program may also fulfill the Graduated Driver License Law responsibilities of the parent, grandparent, or legal guardian.

back to top


What is the passing grade on the written test to get my instruction permit?

80% (20 questions out of 25).

back to top


What is the cost of an instruction permit and how long is it valid?

The instruction permit costs $3.50, it is valid for 12 months, and can be renewed.

back to top


Who can I practice driving with before my 16th birthday?

You may practice with your parent, grandparent, legal guardian* or a qualified driving instructor who has a valid driver license.

* If the applicant is enrolled in a federal residential job training program, then a certified driver training instructor employed by that program may also fulfill the Graduated Driver License Law responsibilities of the parent, grandparent, or legal guardian.

back to top


What do I do if I lose my instruction permit?

You should bring proof of identity and apply and pay for a duplicate permit at any Missouri license office.

back to top


Can I go to the license office by myself to apply for my intermediate license?

No. Your parent, grandparent, or legal guardian* must sign a statement on your application regarding your behind-the-wheel training.

* If the applicant is enrolled in a federal residential job training program, then a certified driver training instructor employed by that program may also fulfill the Graduated Driver License Law responsibilities of the parent, grandparent, or legal guardian.

back to top


What is the minimum age to apply for an intermediate license?

16 years old.

back to top


What tests do I have to take to get an intermediate license?

If you already have a valid instruction permit, you need only pass the driving test with a score of 70% or better.

back to top


Does the highway patrol provide a vehicle for me to take the driving test?

No, you must provide the vehicle.

back to top


Do you have to take the driving test in a car?

No, it may be any street-legal passenger vehicle such as a van, truck or jeep with current, valid registration (license plates and tabs) and insurance.

back to top


If I already have a photo ID (nondriver license) or instruction permit issued by the Department of Revenue, what documents do I need to present in order to get my driver license?

Please click here for a complete list of documents required to verify name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and Missouri residential address.

back to top


Can I work as a delivery driver (pizza, florist, etc.) at the age of 16?

No, you must be 18 years of age and hold a valid Class E (for-hire) license.

back to top


I have had my driver license suspended or revoked. How do I get my license back?

See our Reinstatement Requirements and Missouri's Limited Driving Privilege page for complete information.

back to top


What are the licensing laws for motor scooters (under 50cc)?

Licensing for a moped or motor scooter depends on whether the vehicle meets the definition of a motorized bicycle. The Missouri statute definition of a motorized bicycle is as follows:

"Any two-wheeled or three-wheeled device having an automatic transmission and a motor with a cylinder capacity of not more than fifty (50) cubic centimeters, which produces less than three (3) gross brake horsepower, and is capable of propelling the device at a maximum speed of not more than thirty (30) miles per hour on level ground."

A motorized bicycle does not have to be registered with the Missouri Department of Revenue. However, you must have a valid driver license to operate a motorized bicycle on public streets (though no motorcycle endorsement is required).

Missouri statute does not require a helmet to be worn when operating a motorized bicycle. Please contact your local law enforcement agencies for any county/municipal codes that deal with helmets and motorized bicycles.

Keep in mind that no motorized bicycle may be operated on any public thoroughfare located within this state that has been designated as part of the federal interstate highway system.

back to top


What is the minimum age to apply for a motorcycle permit, or a motorcycle endorsement on my current instruction permit?

You must be at least 15 1/2 years of age. Applicants under age 16 must also show proof of a completed Motorcycle Rider Training Course (MRTC). Graduated Driver License (GDL) requirements apply to motorcycle permits.

back to top


How can I replace my lost/stolen/destroyed Missouri driver license?

You may apply and pay for a replacement driver license at any Missouri license office.

However, you may obtain up to a 60-day Missouri Temporary Driving Permit (TDP) by mail after you print the (Request From Record Holder (Form DOR-4681) from your computer. You must fill out the form completely and have it notarized, then mail or fax it to our office. Under “DRIVER LICENSE RECORDS”, please write the words “Temporary Driving Permit” in the field marked “Other”. There is no fee required for this service. If you send your request by fax, the fax number to use is (573) 522-8174.

back to top


I have a valid Missouri driver license and want to drive while travelling outside the U.S. Where can I find information about the International Driving Permit (IDP)?

You can find information regarding the International Driving Permit (IDP) on the U.S. Department of State website (leaving dor.mo.gov web space).

back to top


My Missouri driver license expired. Do I have to take the tests again, and is there a late renewal fee?

There are two guidelines to keep in mind regarding the grace period to renew a Missouri driver license after it has expired:
• The standard grace period to renew a Missouri driver license (without having to retest) is 6-months after the expiration date on the license.
• The grace period for an active duty military member or dependant to renew a Missouri driver license (without having to retest) is 60 days after the date of honorable discharge from the military, regardless of the expiration date on the driver license.

However, if anybody (military or not) lets their Missouri driver license expire, that person must not drive until after renewing the driver license.

If you go beyond the allowed grace period for your circumstance above, you must pass the appropriate Missouri written, vision, road sign recognition, and skills tests at a Missouri State Highway Patrol examination station. You may then apply and pay for a new Missouri driver license at any Missouri license office.

There is no "late renewal fee".

back to top


Is the Missouri Driver Guide available in an alternative accessible format?

An alternative accessible format version of the Missouri Driver Guide is available in streaming audio on the Department of Revenue website.

Or, if you prefer, you may request the Missouri Driver Guide as an audio recording on five compact discs (CDs). To request a copy, please send an e-mail including your name, mailing address, and daytime phone number to [email protected]. The five CDs will then be sent to you, by mail, at no fee.

back to top


Where can I find information about the dangers of drowsy driving?

It is estimated that drowsy driving is a factor in nearly one in six fatal crashes. One study shows that two out of five drivers surveyed (41 percent) admitted to falling asleep behind the wheel at some point. Another study showed there was no difference between driving sleepy or drunk; both doubled the risk of causing an accident.

For more information on the dangers of drowsy driving, and the steps you can take to prevent it, you may wish to visit the following links, found on the National Sleep Foundation's DrowsyDriving.org website:

back to top