Failure to Appear in Court or Pay for Traffic Violation
(FACT), Nonresident Violator Compact (NRVC), and Lieu of Bail
- How do I get my Missouri driving privilege reinstated?
- My out-of-state driver license was suspended for failing to pay a Missouri traffic ticket. How do I get my driving privilege back?
- What is the $20 reinstatement fee for?
- How long will the FACT suspension stay on my driver record?
- What is compliance?
- Where is the nearest license office?
- What is your fax number?
- Can I overnight my compliance document from the court with my reinstatement fee?
Information 24/7 – If you have questions about a ticket, suspension, or revocation on your Missouri driver record, you may now call our new interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407 - available 24 hours a day, 7days a week.
Outlined below are the ways your driving privilege can be suspended or withheld for failing to appear or pay for a traffic violation, and how you can get your driving privilege reinstated.
Failure to Appear in Court for Traffic Violation (FACT) Suspension and Nonresident Violator Compact (NRVC) Suspension – If you fail to appear or pay for a traffic violation in a Missouri court or out-of-state court, you must submit the following in order for you to get your driver license reinstated:
- Compliance/paid receipt from the Missouri court or out-of-state court/agency indicating you have paid the traffic fine; and
- A $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.
NOTE: You may submit the above reinstatement requirements to our Central Office or, if you prefer, you may take your reinstatement requirements to any Missouri license office to get your driving privilege reinstated while you wait.
Lieu of Bail Hold Order – A Lieu of Bail Hold Order is forwarded to the Department of Revenue by the court when a Missouri citizen fails to appear or pay for a traffic violation. The Lieu of Bail is not a suspension of the driving privilege but does place a hold on the driver record so you cannot apply for a new or duplicate driver license. In order for the hold to be removed, you must submit a release order from the court indicating you have paid the traffic fine. A $20 reinstatement fee is not required.
My out-of-state driver license was suspended for failing to pay a Missouri traffic ticket. How do I get my driving privilege back?
- If you are licensed in a state other than Missouri and your driver license is suspended in that state for non-payment of a Missouri traffic ticket, you must contact your licensing state for reinstatement information.
- To search Missouri courts for your traffic ticket information, go to www.courts.mo.gov/casenet and do a search by name.
The $20 fee is required by Missouri law to reinstate your driving privilege after it has been suspended.
The FACT or NRVC suspension can only be removed after five years from the reinstatement date. You must contact our office to request that the FACT or NRVC suspension action be removed.
Compliance is a paid receipt from the court indicating you have paid the traffic fine.
Our fax number (for submitting compliance) is (573) 526-2511.
Yes. The mailing address is:Driver License Bureau
301 West High Street - Room 470
Jefferson City MO 65105-0200
If you still have questions, please visit other Driver Licensing FAQs.