- What is Missouri's Administrative Alcohol law?
- How can I get my driver license back when it is suspended/revoked under the Administrative Alcohol law?
- When will I get my driver license back?
- Will I have to retake my test?
- When will the administrative suspension or revocation come off my driver record?
- Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am suspended/revoked?
- How do I request a hearing?
- What is an SR-22 insurance filing?
- How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?
- Where do I get information about Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP) classes?
- Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)? I was not convicted.
- What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), and do I need one?
- How long do I need to keep an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on my vehicle?
- How do I get information about certified Ignition Interlock Device (IID) vendors?
Information 24/7 – If you have questions about a ticket, suspension, or revocation on your Missouri driver record, you may now call our new interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407 - available 24 hours a day, 7days a week.
When a police officer stops you while driving and suspects you have been drinking, the officer may ask you to take some tests like walking heel to toe or standing on one leg. These tests will help the officer decide if you should be arrested and submit to a test to determine the alcohol level of your breath, blood, or urine. The result of this test is known as your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level.
If your BAC level is .08% or more (or for minors a BAC level of .020% or more), a police officer will take your license and give you a Notice of Suspension/Revocation. This notice tells you that you will not be able to legally drive (your license will be suspended or revoked) after 15 days. The notice includes a 15-day driving permit that you can get if the officer indicates this on the notice. The notice also includes a form that allows you to request a hearing. If you are given a hearing, you may continue to legally drive until 15 days after a decision is mailed to you.
For more information visit our "Driving While Intoxicated" page.
How can I get my driver license back when it is suspended/revoked under the Administrative Alcohol law?
If you have met your reinstatement requirements and are otherwise eligible, you can get your driver license back 90 days from the starting date of your suspension. We will send the license back to you with your reinstatement notice.
If your license was revoked for one year, and you have met your reinstatement requirements, you must retest and complete an application for a Missouri driver license before driving.
You are required to retest upon reinstatement for an administrative alcohol revocation or upon reinstatement for an administrative alcohol suspension if your driver license expired during the suspension period and has been expired for more than six months.
Administrative suspensions and revocations are a permanent part of the record and can never be removed.
If you have been revoked, you are not eligible for any type of driving privilege.
If you have been suspended, you must serve the first 30 days of your suspension without driving. After the first 30 days, you may receive a 60-day Restricted Driving Permit for work, school, to attend an alcohol education/treatment program, and to seek the services of a certified ignition interlock provider. You do not have to apply for this permit. You may be eligible for a 60-day Restricted Driving Permit after you file an SR-22 with our office and, if required, have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on your vehicle. The SR-22 is not required for minors suspended for testing .020% or more.
If you have been suspended, you also have a second option. You may apply for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). You must serve the first 30 days of your suspension without driving. After the first 30 days, you can apply for the LDP. The LDP can be used for driving to work, school, your alcohol program, to seek medical treatment, to seek the services of a certified ignition interlock provider, etc. A person cannot obtain an LDP to drive a commercial motor vehicle.
NOTE: Only one LDP can be given to you in a 5-year period. Therefore, if you only need to drive to and from work, school, an alcohol education/treatment program, and/or to seek the services of a certified ignition interlock provider, you may choose to continue driving on your restricted driving privilege instead of applying for an LDP.
Download and complete an Application for Limited Driving Privilege (Form 4595). If you are eligible, a hardship license may be issued to you after you file an SR-22 with our office, and if required, have an IID installed on your vehicle. Click here for further information on reinstatement requirements and Missouri's Limited Driving Privilege.
Within 15 days from the date the Notice of Suspension/Revocation of Your Driving Privilege (Form 2385) is issued to you, a written request for hearing must be received by or postmarked to:
Missouri Department of Revenue
ATTN: General Counsel's Office
PO Box 475
Jefferson City MO 65105-0475
The written request may be submitted by you or your attorney of record. The bottom portion of your Form 2385 may be used for this purpose.
- You must indicate on the hearing request whether you want to have your hearing in-person (at one of our regional in-person hearing locations) or by telephone. If you do not request an in-person hearing, a telephone hearing will be scheduled.
- If a hearing is granted, a permit to drive will be mailed to you if you have surrendered your driver license and are eligible to drive in Missouri. The permit will allow you to drive until 15 days after the decision from the hearing is mailed to you.
- Prior to a telephone hearing only, a copy of the officer's arrest report is sent to you at no fee.
- Your hearing date and time will be mailed to you. If you have hired an attorney, please provided the attorney's full name and current mailing address on your request for hearing.
- If you decide not to appear at the in-person hearing, you must notify the Missouri Department of Revenue in writing, on or prior to the date of the hearing, whether you intend to submit the matter upon the records (officer’s report) or waive your right to hearing. Otherwise, if you do not appear, you will be in default and a decision sustaining your license suspension or revocation will be entered by the hearing officer.
- If you do not request a hearing within 15 days from the date the Form 2385 is issued to you, your hearing will be denied and no further appeal is possible.
If you wish to appeal your hearing decision, you must file the petition for judicial review in the county of your arrest.
It is a form from your insurance company that shows your motor vehicle has liability insurance. (Sample of SR-22 form)
You need to file the SR-22 for two (2) years from the starting date of your suspension or revocation. The SR-22 is not required for minors suspended/revoked for the first time testing .020% or more.
If you have an alcohol offense, such as an administrative alcohol suspension or revocation on your driver record, the law requires you to complete a SATOP for reinstatement.
If your driving record shows more than one alcohol offense, you are required to have an IID installed on any vehicle you operate.
If you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on your vehicle, the IID must be maintained for six months from the reinstatement date. You must report to a certified IID vendor each month for maintenance to ensure the device is working properly.
In the case that you have a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) and an IID installed, the IID must be maintained for the duration of the LDP.
Ignition Interlock Devices must be be certified and approved by the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT). The installer of the device will notify the Department of Revenue after installation has been completed, or upon any failure to maintain the device.
- Click here for a list of approved ignition interlock devices and installers, or contact Missouri Department of Transportation at 800-801-3588.