Abuse and Lose

Information 24/7 – If you have questions about a ticket, suspension, or revocation on your Missouri driver record, you may now call our new interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407 - available 24 hours a day, 7days a week.


What is Missouri's Abuse and Lose law?

If ordered by the court, anyone under 21 years of age may have his or her driving privilege suspended for 90 days (for a first offense) or revoked for one year (for a subsequent offense) for any one of the following reasons:

  1. Any alcohol-related traffic offense.
  2. Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle.
  3. Any offense involving the possession or use of drugs.
  4. Any offense involving the alteration, modification, or misrepresentation of a driver license.
  5. A second offense involving the possession or use of alcohol by someone under 18 years of age.

If ordered by the court, anyone 21 years of age or older may have his or her driving privilege revoked for one year for possession or use of drugs while driving.

back to top


How can I get my driver license back when it is suspended/revoked under the Abuse and Lose law?

Send the following items to the Driver License Bureau, PO Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200 before your suspension/revocation period ends.

back to top


When will I get my driver license back?

If you have met your reinstatement requirements and are otherwise eligible, you can get your driver license back after your suspension or revocation period has been served. Our staff will send the driver license back to you with your reinstatement notice.

back to top


Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am suspended/revoked under the Abuse and Lose law?

You may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). The LDP can be used for work, your alcohol program, medical treatment, school, etc.

back to top


What is an SR-22 insurance filing?

SR-22 is a form from your insurance company that shows your motor vehicle has liability insurance. (Click here to see an example of the SR-22 form). If you do not own a motor vehicle, you must obtain non-owner's SR-22 coverage.

back to top


How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?

The SR-22 is not required for reinstatement for an Abuse and Lose action; however, the SR-22 is required if you file for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). The SR-22 must be kept in effect until the LDP expires.

back to top


Will I have to retake my test?

You are not required to retest upon reinstatement unless your driver license expired during the suspension or revocation period and has been expired for more than six months (184 days).

back to top


Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)?

The law requires you to complete a SATOP for reinstatement if your driving privilege was taken away for:

back to top


Where do I get information about SATOP classes?

For information on SATOP classes, click here.

back to top


When will the Abuse and Lose action come off my driver record?

The Abuse and Lose action can only be removed after five years from the reinstatement date. You must submit a written request to our office requesting the Abuse and Lose action be removed.

back to top


If you stil have questions, please check out other Driver Licensing FAQs.