Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)

If your Missouri driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or denied and is not currently eligible for reinstatement—but you need to drive for employment or other important matters—you may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). Some people refer to this as a “hardship license”.

The LDP, if granted, will allow you to drive a motor vehicle in certain pre-approved situations. However, if you have specific types of convictions or administrative actions on your driver record, you may not be eligible to receive an LDP.

NOTE: Effective July 5, 2013, changes to Missouri law (302.309, RSMo), may make the LDP available to drivers who were previously not eligible. The following FAQs will help you in determining if you are eligible to apply for an LDP and, if so, how to submit your application.

NOTE: A person cannot obtain an LDP to drive a commercial motor vehicle.



What would make me ineligible to receive a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

Under Missouri law, the reasons you cannot get an LDP include, but are not limited to:

  1. Your Missouri driving privilege is eligible for reinstatement but not all of the reinstatement requirements have been met.
  2. You have been convicted of a felony involving a motor vehicle.
  3. You have been convicted of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident (does not include municipal or county convictions).
  4. You have been convicted of driving a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or controlled substances.
  5. You have a suspension, revocation, cancellation, or disqualification of commercial driving privileges (NOTE: Only a non-commercial LDP may be issued in this case).
  6. You have a revocation for failure to pass a driving or medical examination as required by the Director of Revenue.
  7. You have a suspension for an unsatisfied motor vehicle accident judgment (until payment has been made and compliance has been met).
  8. You have a suspension for failure to pay a ticket in Missouri or another state (until payment has been made and compliance has been met).
  9. You have served less than 30 days on a suspension or revocation that resulted from a conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving with an excessive blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
  10. You have served less than 90 days on a Chemical Revocation (for refusal to submit to a drug or alcohol test).
  11. You have served less than 30 days on an Administrative Alcohol Suspension (for driving a motor vehicle with a BAC over the legal limit).
  12. You have served less than 45 days on an Administrative Alcohol Revocation (for driving a motor vehicle with a BAC over the legal limit).
  13. You are not currently a Missouri resident, or (if a resident of another state) you do not work or attend school in Missouri.

back to top


How do I apply for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

There are two ways to apply for an LDP.

NOTE: If you have an active 5- or 10-year Denial on your driver record, you cannot submit an application to the Department of Revenue. Instead, you must petition the circuit court for an LDP.

back to top


Am I required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in order to obtain a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

If you have more than one alcohol offense or you have an active Chemical Revocation on your driver record, proof of installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is required prior to an LDP being issued. The IID must be maintained for at least the duration of the LDP.

If you are seeking an LDP because you have an active 5- or 10-year Denial on your record, your IID must be equipped with camera and GPS features.

A court may require you to install an IID even if you only have only one alcohol offense.

back to top


Am I required to carry SR-22 insurance coverage in order to obtain a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

If you do not already have an SR-22 form on file with the Department, you will need to have your insurance company provide such proof, or you may submit a copy of the form with your application.

If you drop your SR-22 insurance coverage before the LDP expiration date, the LDP will be cancelled.

back to top