Driver Licensing Law Changes (2009)
NOTE: The information presented below is for historical purposes only, and may be out of date.
Effective August 28, 2009 - House Bills 62, 361, and 683
House Bill 62
- Provides additional “intoxication related traffic offense” convictions to be used toward five-year license denials.
- Prohibits drivers 21 and younger from sending, reading, or writing a text or electronic message while operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state except under certain conditions.
- Changes the minor in possession (MIP) expungement criteria for a first offender. The change requires the person to be at least 22 years old before the conviction can be removed, providing there are no other alcohol-related contacts or convictions.
House Bill 361
- Affects the way the Department will reference the documents required to obtain a Missouri driver or nondriver license or instruction permit.
House Bill 683
- Allows the Centralized Violation Bureau (most commonly known as Fine Collection Center) to order and accept driver improvement programs in lieu of point assessment.
- Makes violations of certain motor vehicle licensing, registration and equipment provisions infractions instead of misdemeanors and reduces the penalty for others.
- Changes the disqualification period for a first offense of “operating a CMV while out of service” from 90 days to 180 days.
- Changes the disqualification period for a second offense of “operating a CMV while out of service” from one year to two years.
- Requires the disqualification of a Missouri driver who fails to appear in court or pay for a traffic ticket and at the time of the offense was operating a CMV or was a CDL holder. The “failure to appear” must have occurred in one of the following states: Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, or Wisconsin.
Effective July 1, 2009 - Senate Bills 930 & 947
Effective July 1, 2009 (in accordance with Senate Bills 930 and 947), Missouri will require drivers with more than one alcohol offense to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on any vehicle they operate. This will also apply to drivers who are not reinstated prior to July 1, 2009, regardless of when their alcohol offenses occurred. All drivers are responsible for installation and maintenance costs of the device.
- What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?
- Actions Requiring Ignition Interlock / Proof of Financial Responsibility
- May 20, 2009 News Release: "New Ignition Interlock / Insurance Requirement To Take Effect July 1; Offenders Without Driving Privileges Should Check Status"
Refusal to Submit to an Alcohol/Drug Test
- Effective July 1, 2009, drivers who have had their license revoked for refusal to submit to alcohol or drug tests must obtain and file with the Department of Revenue proof of automobile liability insurance to get their license reinstated. Proof of insurance must be filed with the Department of Revenue and maintained for a two-year period from the date of revocation. The most common proof is known as an SR-22 filing, and must be filed by the insurance company on behalf of the driver.
- Besides the new SR-22 requirement, some drivers may have to meet additional conditions to get their license reinstated. These include paying a reinstatement fee and/or completion of SATOP (Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program).